Tags

, , , ,

…Yeah, I forgot to wish you all a happy Imbolc last week: bad pagan, no cookie. In my defense I was traveling most of that day, without candles (bit tough to get those through airport security) or incense, or sleep, for that matter.

Still, I got a lot of writing done on the plane and got myself mostly over the major hump of this rewrite (I think): the catastrophic everything-goes-to-hell middle bit was hard enough to write and revise the first time around: it was horrifying this time. Mostly because I already thought it was pitch-perfect, and yet it needed to be altered. It felt a bit like chopping off a really nice head of hair:

this is for your own good. no, really.

you worked hard to get it to this point, it looks good, dammit, and now you’re taking scissors to it and hoping that somehow it will look better when you’re done.

*sob*

(…So that may not be the best metaphor ever, but I haven’t had coffee yet, give me a break.)

Anyway, it’s that time again… I’m almost there with this meme. I admit I’m skipping a few questions this time, because listing my favorite protag and antag seems a wee bit silly to me when it’s my own writing: I don’t have a giant cast of MCs to pick from. So, next question:

19. Favorite minor that decided to shove himself into the spotlight and why?

I’m a big fan of sidekicks, as evidenced by this old post: they really make or break a story, to me. An MC may get the best lines and the most angst, but sidekicks often do the heavy lifting of plot-moving-forwardness (and yes, I’m sure I could have found a better way to say that. Coffee, remember.) and setup. They also end up carrying a lot of the themes around, waiting for the right moment to pass them off to a MC, or at least it often seems that way to me. They’re the silent heroes of any good book. They also often — sometimes clumsily, sometimes brilliantly– get to be author vehicles.

So with all that said it shouldn’t come as a shock that my favorite sidekick is a slightly geeky scholar-prince that is happier in a library than in court, and tends to trip over his own feet. 🙂 Kinsey started out as all of the above: plot vehicle, occasional authorial intrusion (subtle, I hope) and comic relief, theme-carrier extraordinaire, and jack-of-all-snappy-one-liners. He kind of turned into a minor-MC by the second book –his POV is just too much fun to write– but as he’s still outside the central thread of the books I can still call him a minor character.

