Tags

, , , , , ,

Well, I got less done this weekend than I’d hoped, due in part to some holiday shopping, and mostly because I saw the new Connie Willis book, ALL CLEAR, and I couldn’t help myself.

And then, well, most of the rest of the weekend was spent on various pieces of furniture marveling, once again, over how many threads the woman can keep going simultaneously. Seriously, my head would explode. And on top of that amazing feat she’s one of those authors who can take a monstrously huge cast and a colossal (and long-term) event like, say WWII, and write about it with such clarity and compassion you feel like she had to have been there.

So anyway. Day three.

How do you come up with names, for characters (and for places if you’re writing about fictional places)?

I’ll stick, once again, with the SWORD universe, because with WEAVE it was pretty much whatever popped into my head and felt right. Most of the main/major secondary character names in SWORD were chosen because they had some particular meaning and originated from a particular language; same with places. When I got to minor characters and cannon fodder, again, it was whatever sounded right to me.

I’m not one to agonize over a name for very long, though.

