Tags

, , , , , , ,

Meme, that is to say. You know, it’s a pain in the ass keeping up with this thing (and yes, I’m aware I’m not keeping up with it all that well), but I haven’t thought this hard about books in a while.

I think about them all the time, but I mostly think about what to read next, what I like best, why I didn’t like X, what was awesomest about Y, etc. I rarely think about my own preferences, or try to pin them down.

So this is useful outside of ready-made-post-topic. ๐Ÿ™‚

Day 9: favorite scene ever.

Oh, for fark’s sake.

Clearly I spoke too soon. Talk about specific. I barely know where to start. I could list about 10 right off the top of my head, and I’m so not doing that, because a) longest blog post evar, and b) spoiler much? Most of my favorite scenes tend to come toward the end of the book at the end of a series.

Which, well, got me thinking. See above sunshine-and-puppydogs paragraph about how this meme makes me think.

My favorite scenes aren’t all end-of-book/end-of-series… but most of them are. And what makes me like them is –well, the good writing, obviously, but more than that, the wrap-up; the planning all coming to a single point; that lovely moment where several emotional and plot arcs all meet in a neat little bow before things get messy again.

Falling action, in other words. A lot of my favorite scenes come right after the Big Reveal, Final Climax, Great Battle, or whatever — that highest point in the story arc.I can read the final duel scene between Harry and Voldemort in Deathly Hallows a hundred times (yes, somewhere I can hear that lone holdout who hasn’t read the Harry Potter books screaming WHAT? THEY FIGHT? –Sorry, whoever you are.) but the scene that both blows me away as a reader and fills me with admiration for Rowling as a writer is not that oh-hey-look-how-it-all-came-together moment when Harry kicks his ass (don’t read that whited out text, lone holdout! just don’t do it!) but the very lastest scene of all, when we realize who Harry named his youngest son after.

In Cherryh’s Fortress series, same thing: there’s a moment right after the big battle-for-the-fate-of-the-world where she ties up one single loose end, pinning down a relationship between two characters that’s been there since the first chapter of the first book, and it’s barely two sentences, but it’s just beautiful.

*shrug* What can I say, I guess I just have a thing for swan songs.

I try to pay attention to this in my writing (how not?) — my falling-action scenes are some of my favorites, and a lot of agonizing goes into getting them juuuuust right.

So, this turned out to be a more interesting question than I expected. (yay!) What are your favorite type scenes to read (and write)?

 

