Tags

, , ,

Day 05 – A book you don’t like.

Hah. I’m tempted to rattle off old school assignments: there’s so much material there. But I’m not sure how fair it is –I love to read, and I always have, but having something shoved down your throat is just a wee bit different from choosing to spend a few hours with it.

And yet, I’ve discovered some writers I love that way –Carver, Rushdie, Sheri Reynolds, Faulkner– so I guess all bets are off, no?

Well, I don’t think I’ve been particularly subtle about the fact that I don’t like TWILIGHT, but since we’re announcing dislikes here, let me just come right out and say it: I don’t like TWILIGHT. I read it because I wanted to see what all the hype was about, and at the end, I was still confused. The plot appeared to kick in about 2/3 of the way through the book, I think the MC is passive and lacking a personality, and it really, really bothers me that it’s somehow supposed to be okay that her vampire boyfriend is a stalker and a control freak who appears, throughout the majority of the book, to hold the opinion that his girlfriend is a complete moron he only hangs out with because she smells particularly edible. I mean, wha?

I could kill you where you stand. I want to, actually.

That’s okay, being with you is worth dying, maybe even immediately.

Okay. That’s healthy.

Also, I’m a little bewildered by the concept of a sparkling vampire, but whatever.

*shrug*

I just don’t get the romance factor there.

But, you know, clearly a lot of other people do. So whatever it is, I’m just missing it. I was almost as underwhelmed by GONE WITH THE WIND (I know, I know, but I can’t help it), and that’s a classic, so there you have it.

Sheesh, this meme demands some brutal honesty, eh? πŸ™‚

