Tags

, , , , , , ,

…Well, many, many people have done excellent posts about the books on the banned list (and the completely ridiculous reasons they made that list), this being Banned books Week and all — so, since I’d rather not ride on the coattails of better posters than I, I thought I’d try something different.

Yes, it’s another meme. Are you shocked? Stunned?

Inspired by the talented Ralph Pines and the fabulous Gypsyscarlett going through the 30 days of writing meme –which also looks kind of fun, actually– I found this one: 30 days of reading.

So I guess I have something to post about for a while, no?

Day 01 – Your favorite series of books (with more than 3 in the series)

Um. Gawd, right out the gate, one I’m going to have hard time answering. I read a lot of series, because I tend to get attached to characters. Can I give my three favorites, maybe?

Well, it’s my blog, so I can break the rules if I want, I guess. πŸ˜› And really, even narrowing it down to three is kind of tough.

C.J. Cherryh’s Fortress series. Amazing, intense epic fantasy with utterly believable historical detail, riveting characters, and a kickass plot. Every time I re-read this series I get inspired to write something, which is about the highest compliment I can think of, honestly. If somebody said that about me I’d –well. Pop some champagne, I guess, and feel smug. Or something.

Stacia Kane’s Downside series is my latest obsession: I picked up the first one, UNHOLY GHOSTS, a month or so ago on a whim… and finished it about 3 hours later, whereupon I bought the next two and finished them in about a day each. Now I have to wait, alas. If you’re looking for dark, gritty, angry UF, a super-cool magic system, totally in-your-head characters and one hell of a detailed world –oh, and wonderful writing too– this is the series for you.

Crap. Now I have to pick just one more. This is unfair.

Erm.

Okay. I can do this. I’m going to go with C.E. Murphy’s Walker Papers series, the first of which , URBAN SHAMAN, I grabbed on, again, a whim, and got hooked into right away. It’s fairly light, fun, often hilarious UF with a fun main character, and truly fabulous mythology. I get all happy and excited every time another one comes out.

Anyway. Day one of 30, check.

Got any favorite series you’d like to recommend?

