Tags

, , , , , , ,

Well, after a long and rather rowdy weekend, here I am, all prettified and ready for work.

…Yes, really. 🙂

This despite being up an hour later than my usual bed time, because I decided (after many months of waffling) that I was just making excuses for myself… so, being a rational and non-impulsive creature, I thought hard about it, decided I needed a lesson, and I made myself send out two queries last night.

It’s different this time.

It’s different because I have a better idea of what a good query looks like; because I have an amazing support group of writers that also know what a good query looks like, and aren’t afraid to tell me when mine isn’t there yet. Because I also have a better idea what a good manuscript looks like, and also see above statement about amazing writer group. It’s different because I know better how to research agents now; where to look, who to ask, what to take seriously and what to ignore. And I know what I’m looking for in an agent: I know what I want. I’m going to go slow, no matter how OMGICAN’TWAITTOGETTHISPARTOVERWITH I actually feel –I’m going to do this in teensy waves, and see what I get back, if I’m lucky enough to get feedback with the Rs, if they say the same thing.

It’s also harder this time, probably because of all of the above: I wouldn’t go so far as to say I know what I’m doing, but I have a much better idea than I did last time of the process, how long it takes, what the stakes are, etc..

*cringe*

So anyway. The next week or so will be dedicated to research, query-sending, and, god help me, writing a synopsis and possibly an outline, because you never know when you’re going to need one of those.

Wish me luck.

