Tags

, , , ,

It’s not every day that that epithet is a compliment, but it is one today.

The amazing Tracey Martin gave me a “Creative Writer” (Bold-Faced Liar) award yesterday. I am choosing to take this as a compliment. I never quite know what to do to with these things, but this one came with rules, so yay! I am giving it a shot.

Here are the rules:
1. Thank the person who gave this to you.
2. Copy the logo and place it on your blog.
3. Link to the person who nominated you.
4. Tell up to six outrageous lies about yourself, and at least one outrageous truth.
5. Nominate seven “Creative Writers” who might have fun coming up with outrageous lies.
6. Post links to the seven blogs you nominate.
7. Leave a comment on each of the blogs letting them know you nominated them.

So without further ado, I shall list my six lies truths liesyou figure it out. Enjoy. Sometime next week I’ll admit which one isn’t a complete fabrication, and you can all marvel at how clever I am.

1. I am already published under a pseudonym. It was Star Trek fiction, and somehow it got published, I have no freaking idea why; it was complete mortifying fangirl crap. I was only 24. I’m trying hard to move away from that now and start over fresh.

2. I once put four crushed whole (that is, seeds included) habanero peppers into my brother’s sloppy joe burger while he was in the bathroom, just to see what would happen. It wasn’t pretty. I honestly thought he was having a heart attack.

3. When I was eleven I fell down my best friend’s porch stairs and cracked my skull on a cement block at the bottom. I have a very small steel plate welded to my parietal bone. Oddly, it doesn’t always set off the detectors in airport security gates; about half the time, I’d say.

4. When I was fifteen I backed a truck into the front porch of my house. I hit it so hard that I actually moved the porch a few feet sideways, making all the posts crooked. My dad had to drive around and hit it from the other side to straighten it out.

5. I once streaked across most of my college campus with a small group of theater students. It was dark and pretty damned cold, and unlike some of my comrades I was lucky enough to escape before security corralled the lot of us.

6. Somebody told me when I was a kid that if you pick a skunk up by the tail it can’t spray. We had plenty of skunks where I grew up, so one day when I was wandering around in the woods a skunk strolled by me (they really just don’t care at all, and hey, why should they?) and I thought hell with it and I bent and picked it up. It did in fact work; if they can’t lift their tails, they can’t spray.

Of course, you can’t exactly stand there holding a pissed-off skunk all freaking night, can you?

Anyway, there you have it. Now for my victimsrecipients…

The fabulous writer Jen Blom (who posted a great interview with AS King yesterday that you should totally check out);

The incredible writing duo Lisa and Laura, whose first book is coming out this spring (aaahh! go buy it!);

Brilliant historian and writer Gypsyscarlett, who always has something fascinating to say;

Queen of snappy dialogue and spectacular snark Gretchen McNeil, who can down a shot of sweet tea vodka like a pro;

The amazing and super-sweet Kim Richardson, who has an amazing book;

And, last but not least, the witty and wonderfully talented Sarah Eve Kelly.

