Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Man oh man, I love reading a stack of new books. Few things make me happier.

I stormed Barnes and Noble this past Sunday, armed with $100 gift certificate and a list compiled of all the comments from last week’s help-me-pick-some-books post, and spent a lovely 90 minutes rushing from the SF/F Adult section to the YA section, where many teen girls and I fought over the last copy of The Forest of Hands and Teeth.

…Yes, of course I won: come on. I had 25 lbs and 12 more years of hair-pulling experience over the oldest of them. Please.

And so I’ve spent the last 4 days reading, reading, reading. I had to modify my buys a little, because Michelle Sagara‘s latest installment in the Chronicles of Elantra series, Cast in Silence, was out. So was C.E. Murphy‘s latest in the Walker series, Walking Dead –and both these series make me very happy. Those I read on Sunday, in a blissful state of laziness while sprawled on my bed, propped up by pillows and munching on pistachios. (They were fabulous, if anybody wants to know. Not the pistachios, which are of course ALWAYS fabulous, but the books. Wonderful.)

Next came A Song for Arbonne by Guy Gavriel Kay. I’ve been told I write like him, so it seemed like a good idea to read something by him. And, um, damn –I wish I wrote like him. It’s been a long time since I picked up a high fantasy book that made me as happy and sad and overall impressed as this one did: it’s sweeping the way epic should be,Β  but still wonderfully heavy on characterization, which is pretty much my favorite kind of book. Kay writes in an achingly emotional but not soggily sappy style that is just gripping. I’m a total sucker for that stuff.Β  I’m going to use my Borders gift card pretty much exclusively for more of his books, because wow.

And last night I started The Forest of Hands and Teeth, by Carrie Ryan, and dammit, I stayed up an hour later than I meant to. I still have 2 more to go, and then it’s back to the bookstore for more.

Happy-happy-happy.

Read any new books lately? Tell me about them!

